Daily Archives: February 17, 2016

Basia Bulat Good Advice_web

Album Review: Good Advice – Basia Bulat

Basia Bulat Good Advice_webSelf-reflection takes time as does a good self-reflecting album, and Basia Bulat knows this better than anyone. Her fourth studio album, Good Advice, was conceived nearly two years ago on a drive from Bulat’s native Toronto to Kentucky, and over time the slow, acoustic demos were transformed to peppy alt pop in Jim James’ (My Morning Jacket, Monsters of Folk) Louisville studio. The 10-track album is replete with dark, melancholy themes, cleverly disguised in danceable tempos and major keys: a break-up album you can boogie along to in the kitchen with a wooden spoon. Bulat’s soulful alto tones punch through keyboards and synth, offering not only “good advice,” as the album title suggests, but more an honest look at cause-and-effect of actions and relationships.

Good Advice starts off with the punchy “La La Lie,” four minutes of jangling vintage pop, and ends with the slow and lingering “Someday Soon,” accompanied with haunting vocals and shimmering synth. As the album progresses, the songs begin to slow down and adapt a more contemplative bearing. This process provides an underscore for the very human theme of heartbreak that runs through Good Advice; first, bright and loud anger is expressed, followed eventually by forlorn sense of longing and quiet acceptance.

While the album over all flows nicely between tracks, a few stand out as exceptionally noteworthy. “In The Name Of” is an upbeat ballad with a heavy drum base, tambourine accents, and a gospel-esque chorus providing background vocals. An electric guitar provides depth and body to the track, while Bulat belts out powerful lyrics. The titular track, “Good Advice,” starts out quietly, allowing the listener to focus on Bulat’s voice. An electric guitar riff and drums soon join in, layering one over the other with the addition of keyboard and vocal harmonies. The song itself is an embodiment of realization, the crescendo of instrumentals signaling the clearing of a clouded mind. “Garden” is a jumble of overlapping synth rhythms, again letting Bulat’s echoing vocals shine through. A saxophone sounds in the distance, providing a serene bridge between lyrics. The track is a beautiful and lush dénouement before “Someday Soon.”

Bulat attributes part of her inspiration for Good Advice to a particular July 4th night, where crude fireworks peppered an otherwise dark sky. Bright flashes of awareness amongst a dark swath of uncertainty is the tone that Bulat conveys in Good Advice, and her thoughts, frustrations, and emotions are almost tangible through the airwaves. Whether using as an emotional salve or a good dose of introspective pop, Good Advice does not fail to deliver.

Album released: February 12, 2016

-review by Juliana Van Amsterdam 




Hi folks,
Welp, after a pretty mild January we finally got slammed with some legit winter weather: pipes froze here at CKUT, and it only just stopped snowing like crazy outside. Spurred on by the brutally cold weather, I took in a foster cat this weekend because the alleys of Montreal at -40 Celsius are no place for a kitten to be wandering around… Hopefully she’ll emerge from her hiding spot under the bed by next week so I can include a cat photo in the chart email.


CKUT is honoured to be teaming up with CIVL in Abbotsford, BC and several other stations across Canada for the 14th annual Homelessness Marathon. As a way to raise awareness of housing issues and their effect on communities, we’ll be broadcasting content that aims to give voice to those who are directly impacted by homelessness. Listeners can stream it live from 5pm – 7am via the CKUT website or, better yet, those in Montreal can join us at the Native Friendship Centre (2001 St Laurent) for a free community dinner at 6pm. CKUT will be producing live content from the NFC, hosted by Native Solidarity News and Nipivut. If you miss it live, grab the audio on our web archives.

ckut top 30 – february 16, 2016

1.  v/a – fixture records 4 – fixture records CC *
2. essaie pas – demain est une autre nuit – dfa CC *
3. cheap wig – agoness – self-released CC *
4. lantern – black highways and green garden roads – fixture records CC
5. linsey wellman – manifesto – self-released CC Continue reading